top of page
About: About
Historic pictures of the NorthShore Inline Marathon

The NorthShore Inline Marathon

an event 27 years in the making

The history of the

NorthShore Inline Marathon

Founded in 1996 by a group of dedicated inline skaters, the NorthShore Inline Marathon (NSIM), with its appealing course, quickly grew to become one of the world's largest skating races. While inviting to all, the NSIM has had top notch competitors including Olympians, professional hockey players, professional speed skaters, and more. The NSIM's race course is on the beautiful scenic drive in between Two Harbors and Duluth on Minnesota's North Shore of the majestic Lake Superior. Our race closely follows a similar route to the legendary Grandma's Marathon event that also takes place in Duluth, Minnesota. 

In 2015 NSIM decided to add a few additional events to its weekend adding our NorthShore Wheels Off Half Marathon for runners and our 42k and 21k Rollerski races. We believe our event should be for all and strive to create a welcoming atmosphere for all skaters, runners, and skiers. In 2020 NSIM had one of its toughest years and unfortunately had to cancel the physical race due to the coronavirus pandemic which shut down much of the world and the United States. With that our team decided to create a virtual NorthShore option which has now also been added to our race list permanently. We proudly host our events every year and are honored to be the largest skating marathon in North America.


Our Mission:

To professionally produced inline skating, rollerskiing, and running events and competitions that are inviting and attractive to our local community, as well as regional, national and international competitors; all while promoting health and fitness through the organization, promotion, development, and execution of our events.

Our Historic Race Map

Enjoy 26.2 miles point-to-point from the north shore community of Two Harbors to downtown Duluth along Minnesota's scenic North Shore of the powerful Lake Superior. Our unique race route brings competitors shoreside for beautiful lake views, through lush forests, and down rolling roads. Lastly, competitors get a more urban experience as they navigate through the tunnels of I-35 until they hit our finish line on the St. Louis Bay alongside the mighty William A. Irving.  

Last Skater Standing Award

The NorthShore Inline Marathon Last Skater Standing Program: 
In the past 27 years over 50,000 skaters have been a part of our historic race. Out of those skaters, a few stand out from the crowd. These skaters have been dedicated to our event since day 1 and have participated in every race since 1996. Today there are only 20 left. NSIM is proud to partner with Key Port Liquor to host a unique competition to honor the most determined out of these groups. The last remaining skater will receive a limited edition NSIM bottle of Basil-Hayden Bourbon to celebrate their accomplishment as the last skater standing. 

NorthShore Inline Marathon 

Men's - Chad Hedrick - 57:18 (1998)

Women's - Gabriela Rueda - 1:04:54.79 (2023) NEW

NorthShore Inline Half Marathon

Men's - Chris Lomen - 39:15 (2017)

Women's - Kayla Duque - 41:21.52 (2019)

NorthShore Inline Combined

Men's -  Mathew Larson -  2:02:49 (2012)

Women's - Nicole Werts - 2:09:38 (2012) - 2-time champion

NorthShore Inline Tunnel 10k 

Men's - Chad Wilson - 24:36.88 (2021)

Women's - Kacie Cleveland - 25:11.29 (2019)

St. Luke's Half Marathon 

Men's - Kyle Smith - 1:14:28 (2019) 

Women's - Ericka Olin - 1:26:55 (2016)

Finden Marketing Tunnel 10k (Run)

Men's - Evan Walpole - 32:55 (2021) - 3-time champion

Women's - Erica Wagner - 42:14 (2017)

42k Rollerski

Men's - Matt Liebsch - 1:11:28 (2011)

Women's - Caitlin Gregg - 1:30:16.50 (2019)

21k Rollerski

Men's - Ilya Kavetskiy - 48:08.66 (2021) 

Women's - Kareena Bovitz - 104:17 (2019) 

Course Records

NorthShore Inline Marathon Champions

NSIM Winners of the Past

NSIM has proudly been a world-renowned race since its inception in 1996. Since then we have had skaters from across the world join our ranks. Here is the full list of countries that have been represented 

  • Argentina

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Brazil

  • Canada

  • Colombia

  • Denmark

  • France

  • Germany

  • Italy

  • India

  • Kenya

  • Korea

  • Mexico

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Russia

  • Singapore

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • Tanzania

  • United Kingdom

  • United States 

Countries Represented

bottom of page